What stats do thieves need?

in Thief

Posted by: Moonfeather.3298

Moonfeather.3298

Hello, I am new to Guild Wars 2 and I was just wondering what stats thieves need. I currently have mainly power because that seemed the most appealing to melee, but should I worry about precision too? Is that like the “Agility” of GW? I plan on sticking with melee (dual daggers or a combination of swords and daggers) so should I just stick with power? Thanks

in Thief

Posted by: Spectre.8951

Spectre.8951

Personally I go for 30/30/10. It’s pretty much a glass cannon build but I feel it compliments the Thief play style.

in Thief

Moonfeather.3298

I have no clue what that means o_O haha, is that a talent tree system build, like in WoW?

in Thief

Posted by: Lamelas.6587

Lamelas.6587

He probably means for the traits. 30 Deadly Arts / 30 Critical Strikes / 10 not sure*
And to know what the stats “means” you can point the mouse to any stat in the Hero Panel and then you can see a brief description of what it really is.
But answering your question precision is what makes your character do more critical hits.

in Thief

Posted by: Spectre.8951

Spectre.8951

Basically when you get to level 10 (I believe) you start assigning traits which give you bonuses in various ‘stats’. You get Power (base damage), Precision (critical hit chance), Toughness (lowers damage), Vitality (base health) and Condition Damage (Your Damage over time abilities ie poison)

in Thief

Posted by: elithrar.7143

elithrar.7143

Traits don’t really give a “meaningful” amount of stats, though. You pick traits for their traits, not for the stats their line might have. It just so happens that most weapons suit a trait line that also has suitable stats.

Anyway, for the OP: for D/D, S/P, D/P or even S/D, go with power/precis/vitality when levelling. It’s easy gear to come across and during the levelling stage of the game you’ll replace it often.

[TKG] Mollify

in Thief

Posted by: Shooopa.5632

Shooopa.5632