How necessary are strength runes for soloing?

in Warrior

Posted by: OptimistPrime.9283

OptimistPrime.9283

Hello there!

I am very new to dungeon soloing, and have watched a few videos, and it constantly seems that I am doing a pitiful amount of damage comparatively, (especially on hundred blades).

Compared to scholar runes, would strength runes make a huge amount of difference? (A couple thousand damage per second, I would say) or is it simply inexperience? Because inexperience can be fixed. 83g cannot, easily. Haha

Edit: I ask primarily because I heard scholar is better for group play, which I do far more often than solo, so I worry it would be a waste of money in group play.

Darkhaven’s giant purple cat thief thing

(edited by OptimistPrime.9283)

in Warrior

Posted by: Purple Miku.7032

Purple Miku.7032

Nike worked it out for strength to be approximately 3% better DPS than scholar when you have 100% uptime on the 10% damage bonus. You will essentially never be able to maintain scholar bonus 100% of the time especially while maintaining a perfect rotation simultaneously.

So instead of 3% better, it turns out to be a lot more in actual gameplay. I know it costs a lot but if you’re really keen on improving your output then you’ll have to decide on how much you want to dedicate to it.

I don’t suggest replacing your runes. I’ll tell you what I did — I have two ascended sets with both rune types. I use the scholar set only when I’m confident that the group that I’m in isn’t inept. Instead of what I did, I suggest an exotic set for your strength runes and scholar for your ascended since ascended only really has use in high level FotM (which most people do in groups lol).

:)

(edited by Purple Miku.7032)

in Warrior

Posted by: Deccode.3659

Deccode.3659

So Purple Miku basically said that Strength runes are so expensive that you better get a second ascended armor set, lol.

in Warrior

Posted by: maha.7902

maha.7902

Hello there!