Viable Gap Closure For Warrior?

in Warrior

Posted by: carabidus.6214

carabidus.6214

The topic of gap closure as it relates to warriors has come up interspersed among other topics in these subforums. My intention with this thread is to elucidate this problem and offer some creative “workarounds” until warrior players are given a proper gap closure skill/utility on par with the thief. I guess my thief has spoiled me with his ability to pounce on the nearest enemy via “heartseeker” with impunity. For my thief, as long as I keep up my initiative, I have a virtually unlimited supply of gap closures during a mob fight.

My norn warior is fairly new (level 13) and this is my first time with the profession. I’m rolling with a pure tank build (power/toughness/vitality) with the hammer as his melee weapon. Seeing that big norn sending shock waves through the ground with his hammer certainly gives that “epic” appeal I was looking for, and so far it’s been tons of fun.

However, lately I have been getting frustrated with the lack of reliable and consistent gap closure. I have yet to discover a skill or utility that has a low enough cool down for getting into melee range.

I welcome your suggestions and I will watch this thread with keen interest.

Thanks!

in Warrior

Posted by: keadlaw.6350

keadlaw.6350

As it stands sword and greatsword are the only weapons that have viable gap closers. Sword being mostly condition based definitely makes it less desirable in most builds. Greatsword has the best mobility of warrior weapons by a long shot with a 1200 range charge, a 450 range whirlwind attack and then a 900 ranged cripple.

Id personally love to see a utility skill similar the the guardian Greatsword ability Leap of Faith. 600 range leap with a 15s CD maybe replace the blind with a 1s cripple or immobilize. Bullscharge is nice but with a CD of 40s its not very reliable for staying on your target.

in Warrior

Posted by: Shadowscamp.8065

Shadowscamp.8065