Warrior Heresy? Too many good Traits!

in Warrior

Posted by: Samulus.3025

Samulus.3025

When I started playing this game, I already knew what build I wanted to have when I got to endgame: the tanked-out shout warrior that specializes in lockdown in favor of actual damage. Basically, the support/lockdown warrior that is a pain to kill.

I’ve recently arrived to a problem in my build, though, being that the only two weapons I’ve decided I REALLY like are the mace/shield. I actually leveled from 1-80 with this weapon set always present and my secondary set varied. That being said, I have general problems selecting my traits in the toughness line because the only mace trait and both shield traits reside there and I would like to have all three… But I would be using that grandmaster slot on something, well, not grandmaster.

Would you guys think that me selecting Sundering Mace over Defy Pain or Spiked Armor would be a bad idea? I am toying with the idea of playing in sPvP and WvW with my secondary set being sword/mace in order to maximize the “wasted trait” by having it active in both sets.

On another not, I have a very similar problem with the fact that I like a warhorn in my secondary in WvW, but I’ve already come to love shouts…

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn no other way. – Mark Twain

in Warrior

Posted by: Corian.4068

Corian.4068

It seems to me like the shield and block traits are more important to you than your mace.

I would take the retaliation and not worry about the mace skill. Yeah, cooldowns on mace 2 and 3 would be nice, but are hardly necessary. Your 2-3-4-5-F1 probably covers the 10 seconds between the first bit and second bit of retaliation, so anyone who gets in a fight with you has 20 seconds in which it really sucks for them to try and damage you.