Suggestion for Solo Queue

in PvP

Posted by: zilcho.7624

zilcho.7624

First off, I want to give a bit of info about myself. When I played WoW, my team was ranked 10th in battlegroup and played competitively with the teams ranked above us. The only reason I bring that up is to give myself some credentials. I am not a pro when it comes to PvP, but I am pretty good at it.

For a little more info about myself, I am also a soon-to-graduate math/engineering major. One of my interests is statistical analysis applied to sports. I’m bringing this up because my suggestion is actually not original. I am going to suggest a stat familiar to anyone who follows sports analytics.

Currently, as I understand it, player ratings are based on wins and losses. If and when a ladder system is implemented, I am sure wins and losses will continue to be the sole input to the rating.

My concern is that this does not work for solo queues. Team games are never won or lost by single players. If you are rating teams, it is fine to look no further than wins and losses. If you are rating players, it is a major problem. The problem gets compounded by GW2’s small population. Players are repeatedly paired with each other, one game after another – something that should rarely happen.

There is a stat that can solve all these problems and more. It is called Win Percentage Added (WPA). What WPA measures is the contribution of a player to his or her team’s chances of winning.

For those not familiar with this stat, it is simple to calculate. All you need is a database of game states paired with outcomes. Then, every time a player changes the state, the difference between the old and new expected win percentage is calculated. In GW2, the state is: time remaining, score, team composition, points controlled, players defending points, players attacking points, and players pursuing objectives. States are saved throughout the game, and the eventual winner and loser is stored along with the states.