Origin of the Sylvari

Origin of the Sylvari

in Sylvari

Posted by: Late For Tea.1846

Late For Tea.1846

Warning: contains spoilers of the Sylvari’s personal story quest line “Where life goes”

Ever since I started playing, the origin of the sylvari has been bothering me. We learn that the first sylvari were awakened about 25 years ago from the Pale tree. But is this really true?

Ronan found a seed in a cave, which later became the Pale Tree. Where did this seed come from? It can hardly have appeared out of thin air. Isn’t it more likely the seed came from another tree?

When you travel to Caledon Haven (an outpost in Trader’s Green – Caledon Forest), you hear a duo of Lionguard discuss the Sylvari. They mention the Sylvari having “the wisdom of the ancients”

Full dialogue:
“We’re here to help the Sylvari integrate into society, right?”
“It is our duty as older races to help these sprouts grow and learn.”
“Why do so many of them seem to have the wisdom of the ancients?”

Why do they know so much? They couldn’t have collected so much knowledge in just 25 years. All this information seems to come from the Pale Tree, or The Dream, but how did that obtain all the knowledge?

In the personal story quest line “Where life goes”, you meet a Sylvari named Malyck, who doesn’t come from the Pale Tree. In fact, he mentions another tree to the west. Most likely deep in the Maguuma Jungle, or even beyond that. The Sylvari from this tree do not experience The Dream.

Going by this, isn’t it likely that there are more trees out there? If there are two, why not three, four or even more? Why are the Sylvari the youngest race? The Sylvari awakened from the Pale Tree 25 years ago. What about the other trees? Could it be that the Sylvari are much older than we think? Could they actually be the oldest of the 5 major races? The Sylvari could easily have lived to the far west, beyond the Maguuma jungle where the other races didn’t come.