18-25 FPS - Non Crowded Towns

in Account & Technical Support

Posted by: Mellow.7409

Mellow.7409

Hello!
I am new to Guild Wars 2 and the horrendous FPS sadness me.

My config looks like this:

CPU: AMD FX™-8320 Eight-Core Processor (8 CPUS), -3.5GHz
GPU: Radeon™ RX 460 Graphics
RAM: 16GB
DirecetX-version: DirectX 11
Monitor: 2560×1080 (32 bit) (60 Hz)

Notes:
- All my drivers are up-to-date
- I have sat on 60 FPS on every other game I have played throughout the years.
- My CPU & GPU load when I’m playing GW2 are about 30%.
- I have unparked all cores.

Posted by: Mellow.7409

Mellow.7409

It’s basically the same in GW2

Attachments:

Posted by: Inculpatus cedo.9234

Inculpatus cedo.9234

You can try lowering Reflections, Character Model Limit and Character Model Quality in Graphic Options. Starting there may help.

Good luck.

Posted by: Healix.5819

Healix.5819

GW2 is CPU dependent, which is something you’re not going to typically encounter in games other than large scale MMOs. It may be using 30% across all cores, but what actually matters is only one of them.

The usual problem however is that the GPU isn’t operating at the proper speed. You won’t notice it with a lot of games, as they fall well within the limit, but GW2 does a lot of back and forth, so it has to wait. Use GPU-Z to confirm the bus interface speed while running the test.

Posted by: Xillllix.3485

Xillllix.3485

I used to get 50fps on Mac with some stuff above minimal settings… Now I barely get 18fps on a better Mac at minimal settings and lower resolution.

Switched to a PC, not a great one, just a OK one… Still getting 18fps, except it’s not crashing every 5 minutes. I can’t even play it in 1080p smoothly.

What ever happened to this game performance is beyond my understanding. It’s not a demanding game yet it performs terribly.

Posted by: SlippyCheeze.5483

SlippyCheeze.5483