New PC Build

New PC Build

in Account & Technical Support

Posted by: ElenaDragon.8401

ElenaDragon.8401

I’m new to building PCs. My previous one died, and it was running GW2 at a pretty low framerate with the lowest settings. I WvW occasionally, but I mostly PvE. I’m looking for something that generally runs the game decently at high or max settings.

Here are the parts I have in mind:
CPU: i5-3570K
GPU: GTX 660
RAM: 8GB DDR3
Hard drive: SSD for OS and GW2

I already have dual monitors at 1680×1050.

Questions:
1. Will this meet my needs?
2. Any suggestions for motherboard, case, and power supply?
3. Do I need extra cooling?

Thanks!

New PC Build

Posted by: Avelos.6798

Avelos.6798

Yes this will meet your needs. Personally I recommend keeping GW2 on the HDD.
Also this seems to be a popular choice for regular gaming computers. It’ll max it for the most part with enjoyable frames.

New PC Build

ElenaDragon.8401

Thanks Avelos. Why do you recommend keeping GW2 on the HDD?

Any suggestions for motherboard, case, or power supply?

New PC Build

Posted by: Ilithis Mithilander.3265

Ilithis Mithilander.3265

Thanks Avelos. Why do you recommend keeping GW2 on the HDD?

Any suggestions for motherboard, case, or power supply?

No idea for a good motherboard, but I would stick with ASUS and Gigabyte since every motherboard I have bought from them has outlived the useful life of the processor tied to it.

Same goes for a case, I made the mistake of getting a Thermaltake V3 which is a mid-tower. I find that it is far too small for poking around inside the case.

As for a power supply, if you ever plan on expanding your computer to add another graphics card, you might want to grab something like a 750W power supply. If not, a 600W or so will do. Brands I recommend are Corsair and Seasonic.