New computer - Need advice

in Account & Technical Support

Posted by: oRx.9584

oRx.9584

Hey guys, oRx here!

Im currently playing GW2 on my laptop which is roughly 4 years old and it just isn’t eorking for me properly…

So I decided to buy a new computer, a desktop one this time, as Ive heard desktop computers are better for gaming needs.

I’m not very good with computers, so I wonder what specifications my computer should have.

Also, what internet speed would I need to optimise my GW2 gametime?

So, how much RAM, what graphic cards properties, what CPUs, etc… and what internet speed would one need to be able to play WvW laglessly.

Thanks in advance guys..

Regards, oRx

“Wars come and go, but my soldiers stay eternal.”
- Tupac Amaru Shakur (1971-1996)

Posted by: Essence Snow.3194

Essence Snow.3194

Basically you cannot expect to play wvw laglessly (is that a word?). It will not make a difference whether you have a 5k dollar machine or a 800 dollar machine, both will have lag.

That said it doesn’t really take much to run GW2 at it’s best potential.

For that (and others can correct me here) we are shooting for:

@1080
i5-3570k or better
8gb 1600 RAM or better
750 ti or r9 270 or better
ssd for load times
psu based on cpu/gpu choices
aftermarket cpu cooler……cm 212+ or better (purely a recommendation)
mobo to match cpu/gpu choices….no need to go overboard
case to match preferences

Serenity now~Insanity later

Posted by: ikereid.4637

ikereid.4637

Basically you cannot expect to play wvw laglessly (is that a word?). It will not make a difference whether you have a 5k dollar machine or a 800 dollar machine, both will have lag.

That said it doesn’t really take much to run GW2 at it’s best potential.

For that (and others can correct me here) we are shooting for:

@1080
i5-3570k or better
8gb 1600 RAM or better
750 ti or r9 270 or better
ssd for load times
psu based on cpu/gpu choices
aftermarket cpu cooler……cm 212+ or better (purely a recommendation)