AMD r9 290 crossfire at 1600p problems

in Account & Technical Support

Posted by: Hollywood.2407

Hollywood.2407

I always visit the same areas in-game whenever testing GW2 performance with new GPUs. One that’s easy to use is at the Black Citadel portal. As soon as I land, I am facing forward towards the city itself. Performance often suffers here.

When I started playing GW2, it was Crossfire 6970s. They were fine overall, but had noticeable loss in Black Citadel, Lion’s Arch etc. Black Citadel was at around 45fps.

Then I moved up to GTX 680s in SLI. An increase in general performance, and Black Citadel came to 55fps.

This year I acquired Crossfire r9 290s and in GW2, they are underwhelming. .
At the trusty Black Citadel spot, FPS drops from capped 60, down to 45-48.

I7 2600k at 4.7ghz
Asus P67 deluxe
R9 290 crossfire
30" 2560×1600
SSD drives
etc.etc.

In game settings are on the attachment.

Additionally when panning the camera in places like Lion’s Arch (and very few players or people around), I get slight stutters, bringing the frames down to 54/55 briefly. Meanwhile the VRAM usage of the cards is at 1290mb(and they support 4GB).
As far as I am concerned, there’s no reason for any bottleneck there.

I’m perplexed at
A) Why I do not cap 60 in these old testing spots
B ) That it seems to be degraded when using AMD cards.
C) The VRAM stutter during pan.

I’ve just purchased a 4k monitor and concerned that if these cards suffer at 1600p, then 2160p is just that much worse in these particular game area.s

Any one else using these cards and notice similar?

Attachments:

(edited by Hollywood.2407)

Posted by: ikereid.4637

ikereid.4637

It’s probably more your 2600K at this point then anything else. I run 280x’s and and 4790K (4.6ghz) and pretty much max out in all areas of the game (60hz vsync).

Also, when you upgraded to dual 290’s did you make sure your PSU has enough wattage to support the higher draw?