Gentlemen, I require assistance!

in Account & Technical Support

Posted by: Names are for noobs.1806

Names are for noobs.1806

Gentlemen,

My computer is old -four years old- and I’m in desperate need of an upgrade.
I average 25-45 FPS in GW2 on low graphical settings. This is not good enough.
Unfortunately, I’m a poor college student, and therefore don’t have much money to spend on new upgrade parts. I’ve got a strict budget of $400.
How should I upgrade my system to play GW2 better? I’d very much appreciate it if someone could help me out.

My current specs,

Radeon HD 4870 512MB
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz Dual-Core Processor
GIGABYTE LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard
1080×1050 monitor
4GB DDR2 RAM

Respectfully,
Names are for noobs

Posted by: Glow.4159

Glow.4159

- i3-3220 ($130)
- Random H77 -or- B75 mATX motherboard ($70~)
- 8GB DDR3 1333 RAM ($40~)
- AMD HD 6870 ($160~)

That’s pretty much the absolute best you can do with that budget and should run the game quite well at high-max settings.

If you go over your budget with those parts, instead get the i3-2120 and a H61 motherboard instead. Performance will be extremely close.

(edited by Glow.4159)

Posted by: muslumgurseks.4951

muslumgurseks.4951

Well instead of going with i3 id go for An AMD platform (Fx6xxx or higher /Phenom II T1055 or higher) or keep the 4870 for a later upgrade and choose an i5 2500 or 3500 series… Believe me as it is the game doesnt even know what a gpu is _ so with mid settings having a good cpu will enable you to play w/o a problem…

X99 Deluxe / i7 5820k @4.5 /980ti KPE @1550/ Rog Swift / 16gb DDR4 /Custom Loop

Posted by: Glow.4159

Glow.4159

Well instead of going with i3 id go for An AMD platform (Fx6xxx or higher /Phenom II T1055 or higher) or keep the 4870 for a later upgrade and choose an i5 2500 or 3500 series… Believe me as it is the game doesnt even know what a gpu is _ so with mid settings having a good cpu will enable you to play w/o a problem…