Frustrations and thoughts of a new player

in WvW

Posted by: jonnis.2946

jonnis.2946

My Story

I’m a total novice to the game in WvW terms, just got to rank 20 on one char and have rank 10 from the rest of my play since the games release, or whenever ranks came out, I really don’t know, I spent most of my time before that in sPvP. So I voice these opinions from a back drop of little experience accepting that many of them have probably been voiced before, and perhaps many of the solutions I’ve though of too.

I have to say, unfortunately, that my overwhelming feeling has been one of disappointment. I play sPvP mostly so coordination and communication are the things I really value and was hoping to find in this game mode. I was hoping to see lots of little organised groups doing different jobs led by different commanders. I was hoping to see advanced commander communication. I can’t believe the lack of import that seems to be placed on structures that we have taken. If you cap a base in sPvP, you either stay on it, or you make as kitten sure as you can that nothing else is coming for it, and that kind of thing just doesn’t happen. I’d like to change that, heres whats happened to me over the past few days, my take on the problems in WvW, and some possibly solutions.

I’ve been playing for about 3 days, and got home late after the reset. I started working on Garrison and Bay, both keeps that we held but that we’re in relatively early stages. As a team effort we pushed Garrison through to T3. I was running Dolyaks mostly, and also invested a lot in the upgrades. I also retook and upgraded camps and at times scouted enemy zergs.