So why aoe cap?

So why aoe cap?

in WvW

Posted by: Israel.7056

Israel.7056

I am not a computer programmer. I am not a game developer. I do not understand how these games function.

But anyone who’s played in t1 is very familiar with the technical limitations this game is facing.

Keep fights frequently slow to a crawl. Skills don’t work, heals don’t work. If Anet devs say that the aoe limit is in place to reduce the strain on the game’s servers then I believe them. If the game runs like this with an aoe limit I can only imagine what would happen if the aoe limit were removed.

I have said it before and I’ll say it again: if you want challenging small fights then go work your way up the leaderboards in tPvP.

So why aoe cap?

in WvW

Posted by: MagiKarp.8201

MagiKarp.8201

I personally love people who think just because I play the game I know how it works and what needs to be fixed.

“Just add more servers” “Upgrade”

It’s kind of like your average every day citizen telling the treasury of it’s country that it can solve all it’s problems by throwing more money at it. As Devon said, it’s a technical limitation, not a technological one.

Magikarps Norn Ele – becuz leopard
Blackgate WvW Commander
Vanguard of Exiled Mercenaries [MERC] voem.enjin.com

So why aoe cap?

in WvW

Posted by: lordkrall.7241

lordkrall.7241

graphics has absolutely zero to do with server calculations.

It does however effect performance.
A text-based game does require WAY LESS server power and calculations than a graphical game.

Krall Bloodsword – Mesmer
Krall Peterson – Warrior
Piken Square

So why aoe cap?

in WvW

Posted by: scerevisiae.1972

scerevisiae.1972

If only you’d bothered to read anything else you’d know that I wasn’t talking about the servers at all but alas… you didn’t bother.

Then you’re in the wrong thread. This one’s about the AOE cap & technical implications thereof.