why condition damage is broken..

in Profession Balance

Posted by: Carighan.6758

Carighan.6758

No point the devs have their hands over thier ears =/

No, people are just being childish and don’t actually provide any criticism.

I would ignore feedback like I get on this forum, too. (I’m a dev, though not in game development)
The people who post “feedback” of those “quality” are either too angry to be taken serious (not rational enough in their opinion) or of an intellectual level where you can hardly find out what their actual point was.

What do you do with that as a dev? Especially if say, only 10% of your playerbase comes to the forums? 90% are obviously happy so everything is fine?
Added conundrum: It seems from the posts that the vocal 10% are unproportionally many sPvPers, which would make the silent majority mostly WvWers and especially (guesswork, based on other games) PvEers.
The sPvPers sit here and want conditions nerfed. The game modes where – apparently – the majority plays need conditions buffed. Do you really break the game for the majority just because of a very angry minority on the forums?

To get back to the initial point, think about the context more. Conditions are strong in 1v1 or other such smallscale encounters, but should they be balanced? Can they be balanced? (if WoW is to be taken serious, they can’t)
And if not, what do you do for damage control, so as to not break the rest of the game?

My proposition would be:

• Make conditions much stronger.
  • Make conditions much rarer.
  • Give boons the same treatment.

If I get Weakness, my offence should falter. Yet the effect should be over in 3-5 seconds, and then I should be looking at a significant CD to re-experience the 5 seconds of ~no offence. Due to the raw power, cleansing it would still be a very good thing, but I can sit it out if I want to.