Artificially wide spreads and how to fix

in Black Lion Trading Co

Posted by: animalmom.1062

animalmom.1062

Dislaimer – i just thought this was interesting and I’m not trying to call anyone out or get anyone in trouble.

I’m curious what Arena Net’s thought process is and reasons behind some decisions about trading post economics. Fair warning I trade markets for a living so some of this draws on personal knowledge. . This will be very long, there will be a TL/DR at the end if this bores you, and some wild kitten guesses and accusations all in good fun. This is not a rant, I love the game, and I’m just a little geeky about these things. There will also be some math. Here are some things I’ve noticed (I’ll use the precursor market as an example where I’ve seen first hand what is up)

1. The precursor market is controlled and rigged externally, either by a person with a lot of time who wants to make a small (IMO) amount of money or a gold farmer outfit with access to cheap labor who wants to do the same. The amount of money they extract (real life money) is pretty small for the irritation they cause the player base (IMO)

2. The way the trading post works encourages wide spreads and makes it much easier to rig due to the way it’s set up. Specifically the listing fee and the selling fee, and the fact that you cannot change prices.

3. This causes (artificially) wider spreads for players wanting to buy and sell items that accrues as (RL) profit to the ones rigging the market.

Markets by nature are efficient if the number of regulatory impediments to price discovery and liquidity is low. The opposite is also true. IN GW2 there are a few notable things that make the markets inefficient and subject to manipulation. First, most markets have 2 expenses that cause friction to trading – commission and regulatory duty. Commission usually accrues to the broker helping you sell – in GW2 this doesn’t exist because everyone is their own broker.