silly herb prices, solution!

in Suggestions

Posted by: Cyto.9401

Cyto.9401

greetings!

(for your reading pleasure, i put the suggestion itself in bold, all the other stuff is the reasons why)

i am a GW2 chef, it is how i make my money. i make plenty of it, and i like to think i have a good understanding of the hows and whys of the cooking craft in this game.

i have however noticed a trend! some ingredients are VERY expensive:
dill sprig
rosemary sprig
sage leaf
carrot (lvl 0 cooking ingredient)
vanilla bean (considering its a part of a lot of recipes, and used to be a karma item)
plenty of other examples!

a lot of these items have one thing in common, they are harvested.. now i see anet recently added a harvesting booster to the gem store, good idea. but i doubt its going to be enough.

what we need is a way for anet to regulate the price of certain items to a point where its not 16 silver for one measly herb cough dill sprig cough!

i suggest, in some meta achievement fashion, you end up saving a farmers life
(silly potential stories in a reply to this topic)

anyway you have a person working for you, and you can give him, lets say a 100g. now every 10 minutes he takes out 5 silver, and as a result, when you come to speak to him those 10 minutes later, he will give you some random cooking ingredients. every 10 minutes that roll for ingredients happens, so you don’t have to torture your farmer by spamming f near her all day

depending on the drop tables and the rarity of some cooking items, anet is able to make some herbs more or less rare than others.

IF the farmer gives you 5 carrots from the drop table at a single roll, the price might drop to around 1s each (each roll costs 5 silver, you get 5 carrots so 1silver per carrot). if you get 10 the price will drop to or below 50 copper a piece.
if anet wants rosemary to be 5s, then IF you get rosemary from the farmer drop table, you only get 1