Guild Wars 2 Taught Me Something About Myself

in Fractals, Dungeons & Raids

Posted by: Kimeni.2509

Kimeni.2509

So, I’ve been playing for a little over two months now I think. I come from a background of gaming, many years playing MMOs. And I don’t mean that to say that to qualify myself as great, just as able.

When I first started, I rolled up one of every class, played them all to about 15, read through traitlines, researched through the forums, and tried to get a feel for them. Out of all classes, I ended up leveling 3 into the 30s before settling on my first main.

About one month ago, I settled down on a long weekend I had off, and got ready to dive into my first dungeons. I was about 65 at that time. (Man, it’s easy leveling in this game). And, I will admit, my first experience with dungeons was pretty painful. Spent the better part of a day failing miserably in PuGs in AC. I managed to complete two paths in that day, out of several different groups, and many wipes.

It was a little daunting. But chalking it up to inexperience, and just the result of mostly new players, or impatient vets trying to force newbies into speed runs. Which I’m not new to, happens in all MMOs.

Anyways, I decided to post pone further dungeon diving until I hit 80, and got rares, and preferably exotics. I’ve done that, and have tried it again. Quite a bit less fail (more experienced PuGs I think and frankly, easier dungeons once past AC), but honestly, dungeon running left me wanting.

So, “Why?” I asked myself. I love so much of the game, so many things are right in GW2, the open world experience, the events, encounters, the dialog, crafting, even the micro-transaction store is well done, and that’s still a pet peeve of mine I still havn’t accepted in this modern era of gaming.

Anyways, the answer is, I love dungeon roles. It’s a necessary part of my gaming enjoyment.