Anet Needs someone to Talk to the Forums

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Vayne.8563

Vayne.8563

I worked in retail management for 10 years. I had a lot of contact with customers. Sometimes, when you are trying to help a customer out, they misinterpret what you are trying to say and have a negative reaction. It happens. Sometimes it was the way I phrased something. Sometimes it was just that that particular customer was, well, kind of a jerk and would have been unhappy and complaining no matter what I did or said.

But I never said to myself, “Hey, you know what? Since a few customers react negatively and treat me poorly, I’m just not going to interact with any of my customers at all.”

Why? Because that would be silly.

I keep seeing in various threads ad nauseum that ANet can’t possibly tell us anything because then people will take it as a “promise” and get mad if anything goes awry. And some people do, no doubt about it. But be honest, it is a small percentage of people that do this, and that does not justify excusing yourself from communicating with the rest of your customer base.

I absolutely believe that the Devs and Community Team have every reason to expect to be treated respectfully, and I fully support their right to not engage with those who refuse to do so. So my advice to them would be…don’t.

Don’t engage with the hostiles. Let the mods delete their posts and ban their accounts if necessary. Problem solved.

But using a small percentage of rude people to justify not communicating with everyone else is a flimsy excuse that I could not see working in any other kind of business/client relationship, and it shouldn’t be here, either.

The difference is all the customers who took what you did wrong weren’t all talking to each other. And it does make a difference.

Posted by: Behellagh.1468

Behellagh.1468