Can someone explain this to me?

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Reimia.8741

Reimia.8741

I started playing about a week ago, wasted about a day in the wardrobe locker and decided on a look which revolves around the Permafrost Dye. At the time it was 600g which is a hell of alot for a new player but I put in the work and got up to 410g today. Was happy to know I was closing in till I saw this(attachment picture).

What the hell is this? Now all of a sudden it’s 1k g with TWO HUNDRED buy orders at 850 forcing me to go 850.1? Is this some korean gil seller plot? are they running rampant in this game too or is it just some singular person impersonating scrooge on video games. I cannot for the life of me understand the two hundred buy orders for a single use item, can someone smarter than me(basically anyone reading this) explain what’s happening here. Obviously some Auction House manipulation at work here that I cannot fathom.

Attachments:

Posted by: PyrateSilly.4710

PyrateSilly.4710

Marketing / Supply and demand
Prices do not stay the same with auctions. You could try to see if someone wants to sell it without going thru the TP but I would not recommend it as it’s an easy way to get scammed and ANet did the TP as a way for players to trade without the possibility of scams with person to person trading also it stops the chat box from being full of WTS and WTB orders.

Posted by: onevstheworld.2419

onevstheworld.2419

The price was probably kept low because people were holding off in case the 5th birthday gift included that dye. Now that it has been revealed to not contain that dye, people are more willing to buy/invest in it.

Posted by: Danikat.8537

Danikat.8537