"Downed State" frightening for new players?

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: kta.6502

kta.6502

On this forum, I keep seeing posts about how the downed state is freaking out new players. How? Why?

For those who don’t know, I’ve played MMORPGs for 17 years. I’ve been playing video games for 29 years. Never have I heard that a downed state or defeat is scary to mainstream teens and adults.

I felt that the downed state made this game unique because it presented the possibility of your character heroically bouncing back from the edge of death (much like the action heroes in American & Japanese stories). It’s even funny that the downed player can still damage an enemy by throwing junk, rocks, and dirt at them!

This game is a T-rated game that teens and adults can play. It’s not an E-rated game for little kids. There is no reason to “sanitize” the game by slowly removing the downed state.

*EDIT: To clarify, I see the slow removal of the downed state as a form of censorship. Downed State doesn’t need to be censored for people who are ages 13 and older. Teens these days see more violent things in their history books and on CNN. This goes double for adults. Censoring this stuff is treating the teens & adult players as if they’re kids again. If people are confused by the downed state, put an in-game tutorial on it. Don’t censor the downed state! Anet, if you’re concerned about how violence and death affects players, leave that to parents, teachers, and religious leaders. It’s not a company’s job or place to protect people from certain images. *

(edited by kta.6502)

Posted by: Hannelore.8153

Hannelore.8153

Because players are not able to familiarize themselves with the downed state until they are in an emergency situation that can quickly lead to death.

This is not the time to be learning something…