Entitled Hardcores - *GW2 Edition*.

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Starbird.4029

Starbird.4029

Or “Let’s nip the bloody elitism in the bud”.

I’m not sure if I am the only one who has noticed, but there is a very nasty little trend developing on forums and ingame. I’m talking about the elitism and entitlement shown by certain players, particularly in terms of PvE.

This was one of the things that pushed me away from WoW – the horribly fragmented and exclusionary community.

I was under the impression that GW2, as more of a sandbox, had a more welcoming community. However in the 3 weeks since I started playing I’ve seen:

- People threatening to kick others because the class they play isn’t strong enough.
- People threatening to kick others because they are using a less than optimal MH weapon.
- Gear requirements on dungeon groups.
- People supporting certain classes being harder to level/play than others ‘because noobs’.

Basically the whole ‘everyone should play my way and only my way and I will actively block any attempt to do otherwise’.

Today this was especially obvious when the obnoxious sonic periscopes were nerfed in lowbie areas and we got wonderful responses like :

Just goes to show that ANET is babying the casuals once again.

Why would ANET remove the only challenge that PvE offered? I should get compensated for doing the monthly in “hard mode”.

Sigh…

If you want specific harder content made for you, then ask for it. But, as a lowbie who died several times to turret blasts out of nowhere when I first started, stop complaining about difficulty changes that don’t affect you in the least.

Let’s knock off this elitism now, so that this doesn’t become another one of ‘those’ MMO communities.

Posted by: zenleto.6179

zenleto.6179