Guesting is Coming

Guesting is Coming

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: nekos.2584

nekos.2584

I’m actually appalled Anet would implement paid server transfers. There is no reason what so ever for us to be forced to pick 1 and only 1 server in the first place. Then to add insult to injury make us pay to transfer to a different server.

I’m new to the game, been playing close to 2 weeks and i have found that the server i picked was not one i want to be on. I had no way of knowing how the server would be before even playing the game and now i have to pay to change servers ? Sorry, this game might go into the garbage bin just on principal.

I understand that there is a problem with WvW and guilds transferring to lower tier servers but this is not the way to fix that problem. Hell it doesn’t do anything other than put some $$$ in Anet’s pockets. It’s ridiculous and if this is the best Anet can do … I hate to see what the next step is when they realize paid server transfers wont fix ((( their own ))) blatant and obvious oversight concerning WvW.

Guesting is Coming

Posted by: CaptainFabulous.8410

CaptainFabulous.8410

I dont think they sat back and went ‘lets find yet another way to annoy our customers’ I think what we’re seeing is the limitations of the game’s architecture which seems to be based around the importance of WvW(before you refute it, look at how many game mechanics have been compromised because of WvW).

I know it’s possible to do massive OLTP across datacentres. Companies do it with more data, less latency and with more precious data all the time.

You dont need to create another datacentre. All you need to do is create another environment or use load balancing(which the Anet tech talk tells us is fantastic) to create a space where people can go.

Heck, why not make overflows multi region for that matter.

I don’t think anything but a ground up redesign will solve it which is at this time seems very unlikely.