I don't understand Elite Specializations

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: NeoSoul.4198

NeoSoul.4198

I played GW1, GW2 beta and when it came out but I quit the game shortly after release. I only started playing again last week giving it a second chance and I like it so far. I’ve done quite a bit of sPvP and leveled more than I previously had in PvE as well. I ended up picking a Guardian as my main character to focus on for now after trying almost every class again in PvP. I’m just hoping that I won’t regret that choice with the expansions and Elite Specializations.

So if I understand it right, with the Elite specialization, you are forced to use the associated weapon, utility spells, elite spell and trait that comes with it? You go from a lot of options to almost none? I don’t quite understand in this case why classes like Guardians that is a melee class gets an elite spec that turns him into some sort of weaker version of a Ranger (not to mention that the Guardian has the lowest health pool with the Thief on top of not having a pet). I guess it might be ok for PvE or WvW (I haven’t tried WvW yet) but sounds bad for sPvP which is what I like best.

Is this how Elite Specializations work or I’m wrong about it?

Posted by: Zalladi.4652

Zalladi.4652

With Elite Specializations, you aren’t “forced” to equip anything, simply, that specialization line is more suited to support the use of those new utility skills and weapon.

That isn’t to say the Elite Specializations can’t be used without the new weapon and skills – it certainly can – as most of the new specialization traits will affect the whole profession generally rather than a specific style of play.

Posted by: RashanDale.3609

RashanDale.3609