I've redesigned the UI & the official website

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: amax.8034

amax.8034

Hi guys,

I’m a Senior UX UI designer and I’ve been playing GW2 since the betas, with long breaks in-between and since I’ve spent quite a lot of hours with this game, I’ve noticed some flaws in the games UX (user experience) and thus I decided to tackle it in order to diversify my portfolio. This lead me to redesigning some of the in-game UI’s & the official website.

About the project
The project started last summer, as I was redesigning my portfolio website, I wanted to take a break from my regular website design so I started redesigning the GW2 official website, since I missed working on a more creative & artsy website. This last holiday season I had a few days free so I decided to continue this project and tackle the in-game UI’s since I wasn’t really a fan of how some things were currently done.

What I’ve redesigned

• Looking for Group Panel & the related tabs
  • Character Panel
  • Guild Tab
  • The Story Journal & the related tabs
  • Created a Lore Journal & related tabs

The Entire Design in PDF format – Horizontal layout

The Entire Design in JPG format – Vertical layout

Note
There are a lot of explanations that point out to different things & the reason behind my design decisions. The entire project took roughly 2-3 weeks, so It could be better, but unfortunately I don’t have access to actual game or player data and I kinda ran out of free time.

Hope you enjoy.

UPDATE:
Since some of you wanted to see how this would look in-game, I made a quick in-game prototype:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RUHYOEGKtJs

In case some of you are interested in seeing the behind the scenes process like the research, sketches, what I learned and so on, feel free to check out the link from my portfolio.
http://builtbyg.com/portfolio/guild-wars-2-redesign

(edited by amax.8034)

Posted by: Orpheal.8263

Orpheal.8263

OMG

divine job.