Is Edge of the Mists WvW or PvE?

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: TracyM.3602

TracyM.3602

Hi guys. I’m pretty new to the game, and recently I decided to try WvW. I went into the Borderlands and followed a commander tag around. Someone spotted that I wasn’t level 80 yet and suggested I go to Edge of the Mists instead. Which I did.

Oh boy, what a great design! I love the way the three sides are completely different. The artwork in the zone is incredible. Within a few minutes I had found my way to our castle and helped someone build some siege weapons to defend it.

Big mistake. When my new friend asked for help, mapchat erupted in derision and insults. We were told we weren’t supposed to be defending or killing other players, as Edge of the Mists is a PvE zone and not a WvW zone. Some guy directed me to a reddit thread, which had a guide to the perfect karma train. According to the guy who wrote it, defending means you’re being a troll and should be punished…

So now I’m completely confused. Was I being a troll by trying to defend the castle? A couple of players whispered me telling me I should uninstall and that I was costing them the ‘recap’ experience and stuff. One guy did offer me support, but by then I had had enough, and I logged out.

I don’t really understand – if it isn’t a WvW zone, why can you kill other players? And if it is a WvW zone, why are players allowed to act like this if you try to do what you’re supposed to do?

Anyway, I didn’t mean to cause any problems. I’d just like one of the more experienced players to explain it to me.

(edited by TracyM.3602)

Posted by: bloodletting wolf.2837

bloodletting wolf.2837

Either just do what you want anyway or go to another overflow where there isn’t a ktrain going. Don’t let anyone tell you how to play.

Kaa Mchorror NSP grenadier [hayt]

Posted by: Filaha.1678

Filaha.1678

If you aren’t supposed to kill other people in a PVP map, then that’s a bug that’s taking an awfully long time to fix.