MMO's need a grind but not for fluff

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Selo.1250

Selo.1250

I am starting to get the feeling that this is more of a carebear version of a real MMO, suited for very casual and non competitive players.

That i knew long before release. I just hoped there would be something else at max level to keep players interested.
Unfortunally we couldnt test endgame in beta, probaby becouse they didnt want people to find out there were no alternative or new to the traditional raiding, just an empty void.

(edited by Selo.1250)

Posted by: CJAncients.6907

CJAncients.6907

I’ve been playing MMOs for 15 years to, the thing I do not need is a gear grind. I despise them generally, it’s an incredibly weak mechanic and is needed by the MONTHLY pay gimmick to keep you …. paying.

I prefer to have fluff to grind for if I want TO, not because I need TO. This is a PvP game, as soon as you PvEers wrap your little heads around that notion we can progress beyond all these “we need mounts” “we need more end game content” “we need raids” crap.

Nobody LIKES grind, but we do it because it gives us the edge in PvP

This sentence sums up the real reason people wants raids & co.
They want to outgear people they can’t outskill.

I’m so happy that this will never happen in GW2.

Pretty much this.

I’ve only played MMOs for a few years, mostly WoW and a few other less known ones. I can honestly say that all the fun I’ve had with online gaming, including games that aren’t MMO’s had nothing to do with “progression.”

(edited by CJAncients.6907)

Posted by: Naoko.7096

Naoko.7096

I am starting to get the feeling that this is more of a carebear version of a real MMO, suited for very casual and non competitive players.

I agree.. I’m feeling the same way.

Posted by: CJAncients.6907

CJAncients.6907

It can’t be carebear if it’s about skill.

Posted by: coglin.1496

coglin.1496