Masculinity and Guild Wars 2: Research Study

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Fantastic Timez.3641

Fantastic Timez.3641

Hello, my name is Ferdinando and I am a supervised researcher at Flinders University, Australia. I’m doing research investigating to what extent male gamers use conventional beliefs about gender in order to portray masculinity in Guild Wars 2. I’m interested in finding out your opinions, views and experiences when playing as a male character in Guild Wars 2. I’m looking for men who are 18 years old or older and play a male main character. However anyone can contribute and comment.

If you are interested, please read below for more information and have a look at the attached letter of introduction from my supervisor Thank you for taking the time to read this and I hope to hear from you.

The questions:

1. What is your age and gender?
2. For how long have you been playing Guild Wars 2 and other MMORPGs?

The Following questions will focus on your main male character:

3. What are your character’s race, profession and personal story and what are your reasons for choosing them?
4. What are the things you enjoy doing the most with your character?
5. What aspects of your character would you consider masculine, if any?
6. Are there things in the game you would like to do with your character but are unable to? Can you give some examples?

Other Info Relating this Project
How can I participate?
Participation in this study is simple and entirely voluntary. If you would like to participate you can do so by answering the questions at the end with as much or as little detail as you like.

How do I agree to participate?
Participation is voluntary. If you choose to participate, you can do so by answering the questions at the end. If you choose to answer to this forum post, please be mindful that your answers may be used in the final study.

Will I be identifiable by being involved in this study?