New to GW2 - My thoughts so far

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Filth.1479

Filth.1479

Hey everyone.

As the title states, I’m new to gw2.
I am playing a Tempest Elementalist wielding a staff and I’m Asura. I have played for 268 hours over the past 21 days and died 393 times.
I am currently at 74 agony resistance with 6 Ascended items (Shoulders, Gloves, Staff, Amulet, Ring, Ring). I have killed all raid bosses, except Matthias and Xera (no ley line gliding).

I played WoW for a decade, peaking at world#37 in PVE and a single gladiator title, as a warlock. I quit WoW years ago after finishing heroic Siege of Orgrimmar (25) in MOP. I haven’t bought the subsequent expansion(s) and don’t intend to.
I have also tried, very briefly, Elder Scrolls Online, Wild Star, AION and SWTOR.

I will try to put my thoughts into categories, as I have attempted to cover most aspects of the game in my relatively short time spent playing it.

Leveling 1-80:
It took me a bit over 2 days to level from 1 to 80. I liked how quick it was and how the time spent per level was approximately constant. I leveled to about 35 using karma hearts (“quests”) and from 35-80 using world events.
“Weakness makes me sick”, anyone?
The leveling process was entertaining and challenging enough to keep me entertained. Mostly because as an elementalist I could pull 5 mobs at a time and AOE them down, if I used my abilities correctly. I liked that. Unlocking all 5 abilities at early levels really made the game a lot more fun. I never felt like I lacked the necessary tools to level efficiently (unlike in WoW, where the best leveling tools were unlocked at max level).

Personal Story (Original):