Should I introduce GW2 to my son?

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: IVIUIEI.9631

IVIUIEI.9631

Hello everyone, I just want to know if its a good idea to introduce GW2 to my 10 yrs. old son. I’ve been playing this game for the last 10 months and I really liked it. My son sees I played and he seems to be interested in it. He usually plays fps games. I’m sure he will like the asura engie class. Im afraid he will be too addicted to it like me. So what do you think, go or no go?

vvuevv

Posted by: Loki.8793

Loki.8793

As the father, you will understand your child more than anything else on this forum. You also said you’ve played the game for 10 months, so you should be a good judge of the content of the game as a whole.

I’m not sure I’m understanding the question.

Do I think your Son would like the game? Who knows, I have no idea what his likes and dislikes are? Do I think this game is inappropriate for a 10 year old? No. Are you afraid he’ll get addicted to it? That’s the danger of MMOs in general.

As I said, I have no idea what your child is like, so it would be hard to make any informative call. I’d say “trust your gut” and do what you think. You’ll have better insight than anyone else who responds to this thread on this issue.

Posted by: Astral Projections.7320

Astral Projections.7320

If your son starts spending too much time on the game then like anything else he might be doing too much of, you restrict access. Just like you would do if he was watching too much tv or anything else. It wouldn’t hurt to let him play. You can turn off map and say chat if needed and he could play alongside you.

Posted by: Morrigan.2809

Morrigan.2809

Loki has some very good points.
I will just add- do you plan on playing with your son?

We got the game for our 6 year old daughter because she kept sitting on our laps when we play- she is a bit young but she enjoys just running around and looking at the world and harvesting stuff and unlocking waypoints.