What exactly do you guys do to keep interest?

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Spawne.3128

Spawne.3128

I’m a little curious about what you guys actually do to keep continual interest in the game once you’ve reached level 80 with the character type you prefer to play. I’ve been playing for a few months now and I have to say that initial aw-inspiring feel of what was to be explored after hitting 80 wore off extremely fast, especially being a member of an active guild.

I see a lot of arguments about what the end game should be, and what the future of the game should be, and a lot of complaints about the game being too grindy, or not grindy enough, but I gotta say, there really is not all that much to this game that feels “finished”. The reason I bought the game was because I enjoyed playing GW1 PvE and enjoyed the lore, the lore in this game is almost non existent. Not to mention the content is almost non existent. The personal storyline left so much to be desired, and the few months ive been around for living story, has kept me nothing but confused as to what exactly is the central focus of the lore.

I’ve also noticed a disturbing trend that will probably wind up driving me towards another game in 2014. While I can appreciate the fact that most gear in the exotic level is insanely accessible with very little effort, anything above this requires annoying adventures in crafting and grind for materials, and while the games central focus is to be neutral stat wise with its primary focus on skinning, there is no real variety compared to other games I have played in terms of item variety, which seems to be the reason why every-time I put effort into a dungeon, or a world boss, or something else that supposedly yields great achievement rewards…I wind up getting absolutely nothing for it but junk to salvage or sell.