Who 'owns' Guilds??

Who 'owns' Guilds??

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: SorrowBorn.4357

SorrowBorn.4357

Q:

Greetings everyone, I am a first time writer here within the forums and I’d like to ask a question that has caused me some grief recently.

You see little over or under a year ago I was made guild leader of a guild, after it’s prior leaders had left in disgust as to what it had become (They wanted a tightly knit group of members, their some officers started spamming invites due to events like Teq and Historical events like Scarlet). I found myself in the unenviable position, after two of my close friends within the guild gave it to me after they stepped down due to school.

Now I love this guild…nearly all my time and energy in the game was devoted to this particular guild because of the friends I made there and the fun I had. Even when I started university two months after being made leader I jumped on for every daily, did every historical event with this guild repped. Yet Three months ago I joined another guild so that I could do guild missions, bounties, puzzles and rushes etc because I discovered (yes Im slow on the uptake) what the commendations do. Still repping the guild I was a leader of when not doing so.

Yet as of two days ago one of my two friends comes back and says I should….let go of the guild…and by that he means give it back to HIS friends the original creators of the guild (people that he said he had not talked to in months…which raised a flag) because I was doing nothing to promote the guilds growth. I may have never been a good leader, I didn’t understand guild politics or how to motivate people to join up (As I did not enjoy spamming map chat with invites) and do more fun things together, but I had fun in my guild and unlike every other member over time I never gave up on it.