I poked around after the end...*Spoilers*

in Lore

Posted by: Konig Des Todes.2086

Konig Des Todes.2086

I have a problem with this whole “Scarlet wants to intrrupt the leylines to wake up Modremoth”-theory.
It’s that in the Thaumanova Reactor Fractal she says:

At least they helped identify the network of magical channels that crisscross the globe. That was a breakthrough. Now we know how NOT to do this kind of research right on an intersection of those channels.

This is something I never really understood. Scarlett basically knew that there was an intersection of ley lines beneath thaumanova reactor. If she wanted to simply disrupt them, why not just drill there? Especially since they seem to be fairly close to Modremoth’s estimated location. From the schemematic on the wall inside of the breachmaker it seems, however, that her intention was to find the “center” of the ley lines. (which could either be where they all meet or where they all originate.) I’m not an expert on dragon magic but wouldn’t that mean that all of the elder dragons get affected by her drilling there?

She was looking for a big intersection of ley lines, so she could redirect a lot of magic. Thaumanova wasn’t apparently big enough.

And ley lines don’t originate from anywhere. It’d be like saying wind currents start at on place. It’s a continuous line across the globe – or rather, a continuous series of lines across the globe.

And thus far, Mordremoth is the only Elder Dragon known to consume magic directly from the ley lines – they may all do so while hibernating though, and Primordus may do so due to his depth, but this is all conjecture.

Which is exactly my point.