New Player Needs Some Direction

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: Illuzion.3576

Illuzion.3576

Hi guys, I’m quite new to Guild Wars 2 as I bought the game about a week ago. Managed to get my ranger to 80 even though I’m just a casual player(on vacation now). Now the problem is that I’m quite lost to actually where to go.
1) Roam around explore new map areas and events
2) Crafting – Gathering the materials seems like a pain in the kitten
3) Dungeons – Which I looked through the forums rangers are not quite accepted
4) Look for a Guild which will willing help guide newbies like me
5) PvP or WvW – Don’t think I’ll start those anytime soon.
6) I don’t know what else already.

So for all you veterans out there, what’s it like when you started the game? Please please guide me((

Posted by: BarnabeJonez.6023

BarnabeJonez.6023

Welcome to Guild Wars, your real experience has only really just started.

I would say try everything. See what you like doing in the game.

Rangers aren’t terrible in a dungeon if played right. The only thing is that there are a number of bad ranger players out there that have given ranger a bad name. My advice for dungeons is to forget longbow exists, aside from a few exceptions. Standing back and ranging is going to ruin most dungeon strategy.

If you’re on a NA server, I wouldn’t mind mentoring and shooting you a guild invite. I tend to be on at some weird times though.

Illuzion.3576

Welcome to Guild Wars, your real experience has only really just started.

I would say try everything. See what you like doing in the game.

Rangers aren’t terrible in a dungeon if played right. The only thing is that there are a number of bad ranger players out there that have given ranger a bad name. My advice for dungeons is to forget longbow exists, aside from a few exceptions. Standing back and ranging is going to ruin most dungeon strategy.