DPS Guardian vs DPS Warrior sPvP?

in PvP

Posted by: NeoSoul.4198

NeoSoul.4198

Long story short, I played GW1, GW2 beta and for a few weeks when it came out but quit shortly after. I just gave GW2 a second chance last week and am enjoying it a lot so far with some of the changes that they’ve made since I last played. I’m normally rather skilled at PvP in the games I play (around top 5-10% at least, not the very best but above average for sure).

I tried every class and I want to focus on one in particular to lvl to 80 and get nice armor transmogs. It’s a tough choice as they’re all a lot of fun. Thief, Warrior and Guardian might stand out a bit for me.

I mostly played Guardian DPS in sPvP and lvled him to 39 and decided to give Warrior a 2nd try (I was terrible at it when I first tried it) and it feels like the warrior DPS might actually be quite stronger overall (I use the cookie cutter builds from meta battle since I’m still a noob).

After having watched some recent tournament games, some teams had a Warrior and some had 1 or 2 Guardian(s) but the Guardians are normally bunker builds I think (with the staff) which I haven’t tried yet but I don’t think I’d enjoy a low DPS support build as much in terms of playstyle. So here are my questions:

1- I’m wondering, is Guardian DPS build more of a build for fun vs noobs or can it actually work vs good players as well? It feels to me like it has very good burst potential but that it might be very easy to shut it down for a skilled player and then just keep a bit of pressure on the DPS Guardian for him to go through his small heals and die.

2-How would you compare it with Warrior DPS build (say GS/Hammer)? Are both (Guardian and Warrior) about as viable as each other?