The Real Problem in sPvP

The Real Problem in sPvP

in PvP

Posted by: eleshazar.6902

eleshazar.6902

So I finished my champion phantom title last night (I only needed 30 more wins when the patch went live), and after playing pvp non stop for the past few days I know why sPvP will not succeed in this game without some changes.

To start off with I know that I will most likely get people who are angry about what I say in this thread, but the truth is it is something that needs to be said.

The reason that sPvP is so small of a population is because of the toxicity of its members. It isn’t an Anet problem (although they have stuff they need to work on), it is a community problem.

I wouldn’t consider myself an expert pvp person, but I wouldn’t say that I’m new to the format either. I’m usually matched against 80s (by the new standard) and have faced some of the “big name” players in matches before. Most of the toxicity wasn’t targeted at me the last couple of days, but just seeing it directed at newer players made me so sad.

Every single match someone would make a comment about those kitten PvE players joining and ruining PvP. (And for reference I was in TeamQ, SoloQ and only a few times in hotjoin [like 3?])

“Those dumb noobs ran to beast first! GG "
“God you suck go back to PvE”
“All these matches are awful now that the PvErs came in.”
“WHAT ARE YOU DOING AT THE ORB?!”
“All they want are their rewards, they are awful”
“Why don’t you uninstall the game already?!”

And trust me there were much worse comments that aren’t appropriate to post on the forums.