Turret Engineers and Unintuitive Gameplay

in PvP

Posted by: Zephyr.6475

Zephyr.6475

So, I am by no means an expert on spvp, but I have been running into a turret engineer build more and more recently that seems to ruin games. As far as I can tell, there is essentially no counter play for this build, and it is exceedingly difficult to 1v1 it on points. The build takes minimal player input, even less than p/d condition thieves, and in my opinion minimal player input is synonymous with less fun. Correct me if I’m wrong, but the only counters to this turret engineer build are massive aoe, such as staff elementalists. Nobody wants to make a build specifically geared towards countering turret engineers, so this hardly ever happens.

More often what I see in matches is that people ignore the point that the engineer has dropped his turrets on and just go somewhere else. I personally haven’t tried turret engineer, but it seems to me that it is a build that takes close to no player input, and largely just afk’s on a point waiting for people to be silly enough to challenge them in their nest of turrets. If this isn’t fun for the engineer, and ruin’s the game for other people, shouldn’t changes be made? Save the Engineers from themselves!

If I’m completely off base with this feel free to let me know, I’m just speaking on what I have seen.

in PvP

Posted by: Peutrifectus.4830

Peutrifectus.4830

There is counter play. You just need to learn it. They have no stability and little condi cleanse. My approach is always to cc them away from the safety of their turrets will pulls and knockbbacks, cripple and imobs them whilst bursting the pants out-of them.

You don’t have to focus the turrets!

It’s a weak build but stupidly easy to pick up

in PvP

Posted by: mbh.8301

mbh.8301

When I see an engi on the other team I just assume it’s turret and change from sf to staff ele. In my frustration I decided that the best option was to pve them to death. It works ok.