Warrior, GS/Rifle - viable?

in PvP

Posted by: Gwaymor.4835

Gwaymor.4835

Good day everybody, I’m a complete newbie to the game’s PVP. After trying it with my level 35 warrior (maybe too soon?) and getting my behind handed to me almost every time (which is ok, I’m NOT complaining, seriously) I’ve asked here and there and the gist was “go hambow or it’s a no-go”. Is that right?
Now, I DO wanna learn to play, but with MY preferred weapon setup, which is Great Sword and Rifle. I understand this may sound odd to some (“why choose something else when there’s already a tried and true thing?”), but GW2 is a game, right? So I want to ask: will I be able to play the game the way I want or will I have to use the “tried and true”, else I’ll be gimping myself every step of the way? Or should I maybe switch to WvW, or never leave PVE at all with my setup?
I’d really like some unbiased opinions (if there are such, anyway). I’m not trolling, not whining (though I DO feel emotional about this, no argument there) or starting another flame war.
I just want to see some unbiased opinions.
Big thanks in advance to all who (hopefully) answer.

in PvP

Posted by: Nabbo.2845

Nabbo.2845

It’s not as strong as hambow or bow/x but you can definitely get it to work with the right traits, no question about that. I know little about warriors, so perhaps someone else can help you out here?

In terms of Runes, pick strength because they hit the hardest by a pretty good margin. Runes of the Pirate are also good if you want to keep a distance with rifle. For weapon sigils, I’d recommend using Battle and then whatever else you choose (air/fire are strong for DPS).

in PvP

Posted by: Deimos Tel Arin.7391

Deimos Tel Arin.7391

you might be able to have some fun in certain hotjoin games, depending on what kind of opponents you go up against. and what your actual build is.

but in solo arena or team arena, i have no heard of many people running greatsword / rifle to much success though.