sPvP point system is seriously flawed

in PvP

Posted by: Dafool.6284

Dafool.6284

First off let me tell you a little bit about who I am. I have been playing Guild Wars 1 for 7 years now off and on. I have always loved the PvP and thought it was pretty balanced. I own 40+ Multiplayer games, and have always tried to play them at a competitive level. I love the PvP in Guild wars 2 also, and I’m Glory rank 22 so I have invested some time into it. After all this time I find myself at the start of the match thinking to myself “Do I want to win, or do I want to earn the most points?” They should however be one in the same. So let me first state what problems this causes.

Problems current system causes – First of all it encourages bad or nonstrategic play. It also encourages only builds that are meant to kill, and not support or bunker down on a point. It also causes a zerg mentality, with people running around brainless and getting as many kills as they can and being rewarded for it.

Current Glory Rewards for actions

• Kills earn 5 points without any of the bonuses, when I only get 5 points for a kill it is the most frustrating thing in the world.
  • 10 points for capping and for neutralizing. Compared to a kill that usually will earn 15 points the amount for this seems way too low to me. Since Neutralizing is so quick I would keep it the same but double the capping points.
  • Defender Kills earn 10 extra points, a total of 15 points. This actually makes sense and rewards people for defending a point.
  • Assaulter earns 10 extra points for killing an enemy on their own capture node. This is actually good, once again it encourages people to fight on a node.