Berserker is not overpowered! (with math)

in Profession Balance

Posted by: Raine.1394

Raine.1394

Your stated gripe was that the rangers were just standing there trading blows. Remember? You said “dodging makes a HUGE difference.” I explained why, if you were interested in the effects of gear, you wouldn’t want them dodging. And, you initially insulted the OP (“Great work.”) for excluding or holding all other variables constant, specifically for excluding dodging, which is what you would do if you were interested in the impact of one variable among them.

I don’t have an engineering degree from a top engineering school. I am not a scientist. In fact, I am a software developer and my degree is not in any scientific field. But, I recognized the scientific method without having to think about it, and you didn’t.

Okay, look, here’s the problem: dodging is an active part of the game. Dodging increases the effective HP of the character. It essentially makes Toughness = infinity during the dodge cycle. It does this equally for both the Zerker and Soldier.

What that means is that, if you added in dodge cycles, during that time the Soldier’s toughness does NOTHING. That would alter the calculations a bit.

Furthermore, the Soldier has very low critical chance. There’s lots of on-crit effects, including boons and conditions, which would also alter this calculation. (Vigor on crit, for example, would allow the Zerker to dodge more and increase their effective HP even more.) Conditions on crit mean extra damage.

I know it’s nice to have numbers to go along with things, but these numbers ignore too much of the game (and make too many other assumptions) to be useful as a statement in every game mode.

I guess I’d say it this way: if Zerker is not overpowered in PvE, why is it considered the best gear BY FAR?

(The short answer: because you’re not really fighting a single other player wearing Soldier’s gear… the bosses have huge HP pools but not really a lot of toughness.)