Defensive Engineer for PvE and Dungeons

in Engineer

Posted by: BeardManly.2140

BeardManly.2140

I just started playing an engineer yesterday after playing with a warrior for a long time and I’m loving it. I’m only level 12 now, but I’m looking for tips on how to build a tankish engineer or just one that’s more defense minded.
Right now I’m using rifle with Healing Turret, Grenade Kit, and Rifle Turret with two points in the Inventions line. I’m thinking about maxing out Inventions to get the healing bombs trait, then putting some points into Explosives to help with the bomb recharge rate and such and Alchemy for more survivability. I also want to put ten points into Tools for Speedy Kits to get perma-swiftness.
So long as I’m not a squishy or a glass cannon, I’m more than happy dumping my warrior for an engineer. Until they fix warrior, maybe.
Anyway, any tips on builds/gear? I’m not interested in any PvP or WvW, at least not right now, just in PvE and eventually dungeons once I’m high enough.

in Engineer

Posted by: Ronin.5038

Ronin.5038

I run a Condition engineer.

Once you hit 80, pick up that condition damage/precision/toughness gear from the Orr karma vendors (do your daily acheivements and don’t spend any karma so you’ll have enough to buy at least 1 piece once you hit 80) There are green type jewelery pieces you can buy with the same stats also in Orr.

I run with a pistol/shield with an offhand pistol in my backpack if i want to sacrifice some defence.

Runes are rune of the centaur, but i use this as more of a pvp/wvw rune. Rune of the undead might be a more solid choice for pve.

For traits, i’m 0/30/0/30/10
Firearms: Infused precision/Rifled barrels/hair trigger
Alchemy: Invigorating speed/protection injection/backpack regenerator
Tools: Kit refinement

Skills are medkit, elixir gun, bomb kit, elixir r/u and supply drop.