The many misadventures of being an Engineer

in Engineer

Posted by: Miffinator.3046

Miffinator.3046

First allow me to clear the air, I’m not here to shout for nerfs, buffs, or any Dev work; what I am here to do is ask the simple question of “What is the Engineer’s role in the game.” I’ve been an Engineer from launch. I love the Engineer. I love the class so much I don’t have another level 80 anything. I love being my big white charr engineer. However I have noticed that in the time that I’ve played, and the builds I’ve explored the Engineer seems to always end up leaving me saying “So…what was the point of that ability.”. I’ll begin with turrets, then jump to WvW Nade build.

Turrets are without a doubt the highlight staple of our class. Turrets were a selling point in the promo video. Turrets are what an engineer uses. Yet what is the point of turrets outside of leveling? I’m a bit confused here. Turrets don’t really have a purpose at 80 (at least the dmg ones). The rocket Turret seems to be the most useful one considering it’s the only one with real damage. Not sure here but did they correct the ground targeting for turrets? If not it seems silly using them in a build at 80. Actually I’d be willing to wager that you’re special build usually doesn’t last longer than a month after you get frustrated with the lack of utility a turret brings. Lets consider the list of turrets we get

• Thumper (Not exactly sure what we do with this at 80. Can’t really Farm with it, PvE Dungeons with it, LOL at WvW with it) Yay we get a 40-60 cd knockdown.
  • Flame (This turret is awesome…in the Supply Crate)
  • Net (Now it’s not that bad actually. Quick CD, immobilize, but not exactly that great if someone can break stun which 70% of the lvl 80 populace uses)
  • Rocket (Best turret, good range, good DPS, just a good turret)
  • Healing(Overcharge is the best. Another good turret.)
  • Rifle(Uhh fire faster?)

Overall the turrets just seem like a joke. I rarely see them.