Thouths on the state of the Engineer in PvE

in Engineer

Posted by: JohnDied.3476

JohnDied.3476

This isn’t a QQ or buff us please post. This is just something I’ve been thinking regarding how the engineer plays out in PvE, the part of the game which I’ve played on 90% of my time since I started playing last October.

Now, the engineer is my main. It’s my favorite profession in gw2 and, in my opinion, it is by far the most entertaining and fun to play. It isn’t the most bug free, nor is it completely balanced, but everything about the engineer’s play-style appeals to me (with the exception of the flamethrower :p). This is why I’m currently bothered by how the engineer performs in PvE.

As an aside; you can pretty much run whatever you want in open world PvE. Your trait points literally don’t matter if you’re in open world PvE, everything is just that easy… unless you try to tackle an Orrian temple, but those are very (read horribly) broken at the moment. So when I talk about PvE, what I mean is dungeon content.

Going back to the engineer’s performance in PvE, it’s lacking in a very special way. You can run every piece of dungeon content on the engineer, and if you like the profession you will have a ton of fun (I have), but due to the way dungeon’s are structured, the engineer seems to fit only specific roles like range dps, support, or both if you’re a good player After months of playing with builds/gear/rune choices, I gave up on support for dungeons. I’ve tried too many builds with healing bombs, grenade vuln stacking and combo fields. Having to go through an elaborate buffing process only detracts from your awareness and all that elixir gun’s SE does is fool people into thinking that it can heal them more than that aoe fire is hurting them. I’ve come to think that elixir R is the only support you need, in addition to well timed rezzes when it’s toolbelt is on cooldown.