Is a Lockdown Mesmer still a good choice?

in Mesmer

Posted by: Veruah.5302

Veruah.5302

I’m new to GW2 but have always enjoyed playing control type classes in RPGs. I apparently missed the golden age of control in GW1 with our namesake class, but I have been leveling a Mesmer (currently 72 – hoping to finish it out this weekend!) with hopes of playing control in WvW or a PvP mode. I’ve lurked on the forums for a while and really like the sound of several builds, including Chillruption and anything that uses Power Block.

So, my question is, with the recent changes to Mesmer do you all think a lockdown focused build is still a good choice? Are we needed in WvW/PvP? Can we make a legitimate impact on a fight with our lockdown and skill interruption and cooldown lengthening powers?

Thanks!

in Mesmer

Posted by: Swish.2463

Swish.2463

If you want a control class with a lot of options, Roll a thief or Necro or Ele or Warrior or Engineer or maybe even Guardian.. honestly…

Mesmers in WvW and PvP can still use Lock down builds, but in the WvW zerg where mass stability is a thing make Control a crap shoot… additionally our single AoE control spell is also completely Random. You wont be making a difference in zerg vs zerg combat with lock downs.

PvP its more viable to go PU specially after the sword 3 fix, but its something that can still be worked to an advantage. We are not a highly requested class apart from Boon removals and Portal in higher end match ups here.. Shatters are the most optimal way to achieve this so don’t expect to be anyone first choice with lock down.

Power Block as a trait is very murky if you haven’t used it yet. Here’s what it offers.

Interrupted Skill gains 5 extra seconds of cd before it can be retried.

What it doesn’t tell you.

Interrupted Skills already get kitten cd applied to them no matter what class just interrupted it.

The interrupted skill must not be an auto attack or no CD will be applied