How to Beat a Thief

How to Beat a Thief

in Necromancer

Posted by: Svarty.8019

Svarty.8019

I am not a new player. But I am happy to admit that I am more than a complete newb when it comes to winning fights.

I would like to rectify this somewhat, but I have a problem in that I can’t target my enemy. Thieves are a nightmare since once I have targeted them (no mean feat in and of itself), they then dispose of my target and I am again floundering around dropping marks and hoping to spot one if they hit it. At some point my health drops by half and then he teleports about 2 miles away before I can react. Repeat once more and that “fight” life is over. That’s pretty much every thief fight.

Similarly, with mesmer, if I see one, I try to run away – but with no swiftness or teleport and only one leap that isn’t always available (Reaper Shroud #2), I really struggle with movement.

The fight with a mesmer is always the same: Try to pop clones before they get close. Have a vague idea which one the mesmer is (the one at the back) and then discover he is a clone too when he pops. Then die.

I am certain I am not alone. This happens to loads of other players, I see it every day.

Why does Arenanet insist that these classes are ok? What do you do to beat them? Is it really a matter of learning every single class and spec in the game even if I don’t want to play them?

Nobody at Anet loves WvW like Grouch loved PvP. That’s what we need, a WvW Grouch, but taller.

How to Beat a Thief

in Necromancer

Posted by: Flumek.9043

Flumek.9043

power or condi mesmer can 100-0 any necro with enough CD and especially if he catches you just a tiny bit off guard or with anets fantastic zero lifeforce design.
deal with it, write a whine post, respawn, repeat.

Same with thief.
You should NOT be wining a duel against a competent thief. It takes longer though, usually at least to 20s to 2nd steal and you can instantly force a decap. You WILL die tho in 15s, just mentioning.

the trick is to