Guardian traps

Guardian traps

in Thief

Posted by: SmokinBuda.1398

SmokinBuda.1398

I am new to the thief class…I am getting one-shot by these traps, am I doing something wrong or are its supposed to be like that?

Snowblind the Elementalist of Cantankerous

Guardian traps

in Thief

Posted by: Asrat.2645

Asrat.2645

If you get hits by the traps you are usually dead. The best way is to dodge through them or trigger and shadowstep out.
Get some info, read about how the traps work, it will help you to understand how to minimize the damage if you get caught.
Dont try to fight inside the traps, you cant do it. Just trigger them, get out and wait.
Guardians are our hardcounter. They are hard to defeat without the traps, they only make it worse.
You should not try to fight a guard. You will only win if they are really, really bad.
If you want to fight them for whatever reason, you cant do it on point. Make them run, make them leave the comfort zone of where their traps lie.

Guardian traps

in Thief

Posted by: Yannir.4132

Yannir.4132

Aaand when they have a longbow handy, even the kiting usually ends up with a dead thief. If they don’t make any serious mistakes.

Yannir for males. (guard,thief,war,ele)
Sonya for females. (necro,rev,ranger,mes,engi)
All classes lvl 80.

Guardian traps

in Thief

Posted by: DeceiverX.8361

DeceiverX.8361

There really isn’t a way to beat them if they know how to play. After some practice you’ll get used to what kills you (typically trap damage and True shot), and it’s really just a matter of not getting hit by these or mitigating them as much as possible while forcing cooldowns. If they royally screw up, you have a chance to punish them if their traps are off cooldown, but otherwise you’re pretty much SOL as there’s no real way for a thief to counter a DH. You effectively require Daredevil for this. Core thief stands even less of a chance due to reduced evasion spam.

Guardian traps

in Thief

Posted by: Sirendor.1394

Sirendor.1394