Why so little venom shares in dungeons?

in Thief

Posted by: jportell.2197

jportell.2197

Now I am by no means an expert in theory crafting everything thief… But why don’t more thieves run a venom share build in dungeon? I did it in 3 separate dungeons and we were able to keep the boss stunned for quite some time completely ignoring the defiant stacks… it also helped because it made me some what tankier thanks to it being in toughness line… So my question is why do so many thieves run dungeons doing a zerker back stab build… that dies to a sneeze… Instead of something like this… It offers good group support and as long as you wait after activating your venoms the boss will be stunned for at least 5-6 seconds… So what do you guys run in dungeons normally? What reasons do people have for not running a venom share build in dungeons.

Johnny The Gray
GASM’s Bunker Mesmer

in Thief

Posted by: Daecollo.9578

Daecollo.9578

Its worthless if you take the following

1 Ranger.
1 Necromancer.
1 Shortbow Thief.

Hero {} Roleplayer {} Friend {} Professional Princess Saver
https://twitter.com/TalathionEQ2

in Thief

Posted by: Grimwolf.7163

Grimwolf.7163

Well it requires quite a bit of group coordination, not only because of the small radius, but also because at least two of the venoms do not stack with multiple applications.
Then there’s the fact that all venoms are utilitarian and not terribly useful in PvE compared to raw damage, since all NPCs are dumb as dirt and just chase someone around swinging once every few seconds.
Then there’s also the fact that, between 5 people, you’ll easily have most conditions up on them at almost all times anyway.

in Thief

Posted by: Arganthium.5638

Arganthium.5638

I wish there was a good answer to your question. I wish I could point out various flaws in the VS build for dungeons. But… In all truth, I think that it’s one of the best (and most theoretically correct) builds for a thief to take into a dungeon. It’s completely underrated.