The Monk - a tanky dps build guide

in Warrior

Posted by: zone.1073

zone.1073

The Monk build for warriors <- Link to build here. Use this variation when enemy comp has high spike, power-based damage and no enemy stunlock warrior.

Heavy condition removal variation. (Switch to Lyssa runes and Signet of Stamina. Save Signet of Rage usage for condition removal. You may use warhorn and the Quick Breathing trait for a near complete condition wipe every ~15 seconds.)

30 seconds of stability variation (Switch to Lyssa runes, Sure-Footed trait, balanced stance. Self-explanatory, but use this variation when enemy team has a stunlock warrior or a high amount of crowd control)

PvP analysis of build here. <- Feedback here is welcome.

This is just a simple guide to a build I have been creating for competitive PvP for several months. It took a lot of experimenting and refining but I would like to share the results now.

Pros:

• 900 HP healing per second forever, no cooldowns required.
  • An additional burst heal of 4000 HP.
  • High toughness and condition removal.
  • Strong team support through AoE damage and AoE healing.
  • Strong offensive pressure through condition damage.
  • Thrives in 4v4s. Can handle 1v2s adequately. Can kill most classes 1v1.

Cons:

• Team dependent.
  • Offers little to no crowd control outside of immobilizes (but does offer a huge amount and duration of immobilizes).
  • Low power-based damage.
  • Long cooldowns on all utilities (60 to ~120 seconds).

FAQs

• Why healing signet?
    Healing signet heals more than a max adrenaline healing surge over 30 seconds. Combined with perma regeneration and adrenal health, it’s like having a ranger’s troll unguent but permanent and always on. Think monk from GW1.
  • Why banner?