GW2 e-sports (leagues and tournaments)

in PvP

Posted by: IceTenacious.4126

IceTenacious.4126

Hi, my name is Salman and most people know me as Ice/Icifyr from the NA PvP scene.
What most people don’t know is I was an administrator at WOGL (World Online Gaming League) which organised (not a typo I use Australian English) leagues and tournaments for several games. Sadly, I left my position but I have always wondered if that was a good decision.

Recently, I saw an opportunity in League of Legends (Australian scene) as Riot Games is opening a server in Australia. I decided I was going to start a project, essentially, a website with a group of people who would organise leagues and tournaments for LoL (Australia). The project is currently under development and we, IceGaming, will be releasing a beta website soon.

I started to play Guild Wars 2, again, a few days ago and was surprised to find that ANet have released custom servers so I thought this would be an opportune moment to ask the community if they would be interested in leagues and tournaments for Guild Wars 2.

I’ll continue from here with dot points to outline what we were thinking:

Edit: notes marked with “#” include comments from the community, notes marked with “~” are comments added by us after our initial post

These are the potential events we could hold:

- #Group-based single elimination tournament
- #16 teams minimum
- #4 groups of 4 teams, top two teams from groups advance to elimination tournament
- ~Hosted over a few weeks, with similar rules as placement tournament idea
linebreakhere
- #Draft tournament (over a day) – public group or teams
- ~Players gathers on a voice chat
- ~Captains chosen from players
- ~Captains pick players
- ~ Teams play against each other (as a single elimination tournament)
linebreakhere
- Placement tournament
- Two tournaments; one for each region
- Double elimination tournament (standard)
- #Team sign-ups (not invite only)