Account Closures: 2 November 2015

in Account & Technical Support

Posted by: Conner.4702

Conner.4702

You are assuming things here. I’m a developer and did work on security aspect a few very public software projects.

In this particular case, no, there aren’t “hundred other ways to uniquely track somone”. You cannot reliably track people, you can track accounts, network endpoints and computers. Who is using the said computer is for the most part unknown to the tracker (unless you get into some crazy stuff like turning on webcams and running face recog software on the captured images ^^).

Good. That means we both agree that “someone” in this context of account credentials isn’t a real life person, but rather the keyboard that’s used to enter them. Trying to argue otherwise, as was stated, would be arguing “my twin used my PC while I was gone” which won’t work irl or here.

So I have to ask; knowing that telling the cheat developer which account was banned tells him extremely valuable information about the cheat detection deployed, why would you not ban every account associated with this instance of cheating?

Because there is NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO way to determine it is the same person with 100% accuracy. Let’s put this in another way. Someone killed a person and the police just arrests everyone that was in the neighborhood and charged them with murder. Simply because there WERE in the neighborhood. This is exactly why they get false positives their method is faulty and not accurate at all. Why say people lie and put anet above that. Sorry to burst your bubble anet lies too, but you just argue the same thing over and over regardless.

Posted by: Inangelion.8645

Inangelion.8645

So I have to ask; knowing that telling the cheat developer which account was banned tells him extremely valuable information about the cheat detection deployed, why would you not ban every account associated with this instance of cheating?