Hello, my name is Tequatl...

in Tequatl Rising

Posted by: Kraag Deadsoul.2789

Kraag Deadsoul.2789

…and this is my first time attending Co-dependants Anonymous.

It all started that fateful day when I first met him; the Big Z. The rotting flesh, the putrid green aura, the multiple heads; what’s not to love, right? And that raw, primal lust for power with all those undead minions worshiping at his feet. Made me weak in the wings.

Back then, I’d do anything for him…anything. And I did, too. “Stand on the beach and look menacing but don’t actually pose a threat.”, he said. I – star-struck – obediently complied, “Yes, Big Z. Anything for you Big Z.

Over time, though, there was a growing emptiness inside me. I just chocked it up to an empty stomach and figured a few dozen adventurer hors d’oeuvres would satisfy my hunger. Alas – tasty as they were – they did not sate the growing void within.

Something was missing. That something was me. I’d repressed my own needs so Big Z could take all the glory. He was just using me and I – foolishly – allowed it to happen. I enabled his attention seeking behavior…his narcissism…at the expense of my own nature. I look back now and think how could I have been so stupid.

When I finally confronted him with the news that I wouldn’t allow myself to be used anymore, he just laughed. “There’s a million more where you came from, sweet cheeks.”, he derisively chuckled. It stung, but at least I had asserted myself. I had finally broken his spell over me. I was free.

Recovery has been hard. After so long of standing in one place, my fitness level is shot. I can barely fly anymore; it’s more of a glorified leap. But each day I’m working to get stronger; I can even hover a little bit now.